GEPL Teens: Summer Reading Starts Today!

Teens Blog BannerBlog Entry 55 - Image Header

I’ve been talking about it for weeks, but today it’s finally upon us – summer reading is starting at GEPL!  I know you’re still worried about finals and graduation, but summer reading is going to be awesome, and you may as well get started on it early.  Here’s a rundown of what you need to know:

Blog Entry 55 - Image 2

Your school books count! Any book you read for school, including whatever is on your summer reading list, counts for GEPL summer reading too.  And this is a really good thing, because…

Blog Entry 55 - Image 4

We have an awesome grand prize! Two winners will get one of the grand prizes, two $200 gift certificates to Ticketmaster.  You can use those bad boys for concerts, Broadway shows, Blackhawks game (my personal favorite,) or anything else that requires a ticket.  And let me tell you, $200 can buy tickets to some pretty awesome events.  Or it can buy you a lot of tickets to some awesome, if less famous and expensive, events.   Every five books you read gets you an entry into our drawing, so the more you read, the more chances you have to win one of these.

Blog Entry 55 - Image 1

You get prizes just for signing up & reading one book! We are giving away t-shirts to every teen who signs up (they have an adorable owl on them.)  When you finish your first book, we’ll give you a $5 gift certificate to Starbucks or Amazon.  And c’mon…you have to read at least one book for school this summer, and since that totally counts (see above) it’s like we’re giving you things just for doing your homework.  Which, let’s be honest, makes homework better.  And if it’s not for homework?  Well then we’re giving you stuff for reading great books that you want to read anyways, and that’s even better!

Blog Entry 55 - Image 3

You’ll be helping animals when you read! Just like the ones plastered all over this page, because we all know how we feel about animals on this blog.  But really, you will be helping – every book you read will get us closer to our goal of 6,000 books read by adults in our library.  And if we meet that goal?  The Friends of the Glen Ellyn Public Library will donate enough to the Willowbrook Wildlife Center to provide 60 weeks of care to a rescued animal.  So not only are we giving you stuff for doing homework and read great books, you’ll be doing good for an orphaned or injured animal (or many!) while you do that homework and read that great book.

Blog Entry 55 - Image 5

You get points for using Twitter & talking about books! You know that feeling when you finish a book, and you either hated it so much you want to complain, or loved it so much you want to tell the world?  Well we want to hear it!  So much so that we’re willing to bribe you to talk about books.  So if you follow us (@GEPLTeenScene) on Twitter and tweet at us about what you’re reading, we’ll count every five tweets as a book read – which gets you that much closer to another chance at those Ticketmaster gift cards!  And if you write a book review (at least 250 words please!) that we can post to this blog and e-mail it to me at hrapp@gepl.org, that counts as another book read.  So if you read a book, Tweet about it while you’re reading, and write a book review, you’re over halfway to an entry in the drawing for the Ticketmaster gift cards!

So that’s what you need to know about GEPL summer reading.  You can sign up starting today by coming in to the library, calling 630-790-6630, or going to www.gepl.org/summer.  If you register this week, you’ll be entered into a drawing for one of three pre-publication book copies (and for fans of The Testing series, Graduation Day is one of them!)

Once you sign up, come in to the library to grab your free t-shirt, and start reading, tweeting, and enjoying some great reads!

Posted in GEPL Teens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*


four + 9 =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>