Skip to content

Monday – Thursday: 9 am – 9 pm
Friday: 9 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 9 am – 5 pm
Sunday: 1 – 5 pm

Saturday, May 18, 2024  |  9 am – 5 pm

Monday – Thursday: 9 am – 9 pm
Friday: 9 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 9 am – 5 pm
Sunday: 1 – 5 pm

Books About Haunted Houses

By: Sarah Kovac, Adult Department Assistant Director and Readers’ Advisory Librarian

To get you in the mood for the Haunted Library event on October 20, these spine-chilling books feature danger coming from inside the house. Consider yourself warned: you might not want to read them right before bedtime!

How to Sell a Haunted House by Grady Hendrix
In this darkly humorous novel, single mom Louise returns to her small hometown to deal with her late parents’ house. The tension rises as her mother’s prized dolls and puppets, including Punkin the clown, seem to be moving on their own. Fans of Annabelle and Child’s Play will enjoy this creepy tale.

A House with Good Bones by T. Kingfisher
Archeologist Sam Montgomery is looking forward to spending a cozy weekend with her mom. However, when she arrives, she finds her mother is jumpy and anxious, vultures are circling the mailbox, and there is a jar of teeth in the rosebushes. In her search for answers, Sam unearths long-buried horrors. Kingfisher’s novel has twists and turns, humor, and details that will make you squirm.

The Book of Cold Cases by Simone St. James
If you’re a fan of true crime, you’ll enjoy this supernatural thriller. A blogger gets the chance to interview the reclusive Beth Greer, who was charged and acquitted of two murders, at her eerie cliffside manor. This genre-blending book has a mix of romance, horror, and mystery.

The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas
In the years surrounding the Mexican War of Independence, Beatriz is looking forward to a fresh start with her new husband. However, shortly after arriving at his run-down estate, she begins to see signs, including rumors about his first wife’s death, that something is off. Richly detailed, The Hacienda will both terrify you and make you think.

chat loading...

Accessibility Toolbar