Skip to content

Monday – Thursday: 9 am – 9 pm
Friday: 9 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 9 am – 5 pm
Sunday: 1 – 5 pm

Wednesday, April 17, 2024  |  9 am – 9 pm

Monday – Thursday: 9 am – 9 pm
Friday: 9 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 9 am – 5 pm
Sunday: 1 – 5 pm

Get to Know Youth Department Assistant Director and Technology Librarian Ellie Hansen

By: GEPL Staff

Why did you choose to become a librarian?
It’s the family tradition! My grandma, great-aunt, and mom are all librarians! Growing up, I spent a lot of time at my local library, which helped foster a huge love of reading. Being connected to different worlds through books was very magical to me, and I knew that I wanted to help other kids experience that love and magic too. Working with kids is always interesting—I love getting to know them and learning what motivates them.

Do you have any fun childhood memories at the library?
One of my favorite memories was playing hide-and-seek at the university medical library where my grandma worked. My sister and cousins and I were supposed to collect the books from the shelving carts, but we played hide-and-seek instead. Our laughter filled the usually quiet building. Sometimes we would even get the college students to play hide-and-seek with us.

What is your favorite part of working in a library?
I love talking with children and showing them all the fun things that libraries have—books, cool tech items, craft programs. Libraries are more than just books, and I love getting to show that to children.

What is your favorite book genre?
This is tough, as I tend to read based on my mood, but I usually choose romance or adventure.

If a movie/show comes out that was based on a book, do you watch first to see if you’d like the book, or do you read the book first?
It depends on what the movie/show is about, but usually I would rather read the book first.

If you could choose a fictional character to be your best friend, whom would you choose?
Nancy Drew. As kids, my friends and I loved solving mysteries and having adventures.

If you had to live in a different state, which would it be?
Wisconsin, so that I could be closer to my family.

Do you have a favorite hobby?
In the summer, my favorite hobby is boating. Otherwise, cross stitching or working on a random house DIY project.

What is your favorite book right now?
A Gift for Amma: Market Day in India by Meera Sriram.

chat loading...

Accessibility Toolbar